What do you know about US politics?

The political power in the United States is based on the Constitution of 1787, which establishes a federal republic with a presidential system. The federal government is divided into three branches: the executive, headed by the president; the legislative, composed of the Congress (Senate and House of Representatives); and the judicial, consisting of the Supreme Court and other courts. Each branch has specific functions and checks and balances over the others. The federal government also shares powers with the governments of the 50 states that form the Union, each with its own constitution, governor and legislature. The main political parties are the Democratic Party and the Republican Party, which dominate the national political scene for more than a century. The presidential elections are held every four years through an indirect voting system by an electoral college. The citizens of the United States who are 18 years or older have the right to vote, except for some exceptions.

Branches of de Unites States


The United States Congress is made up of the House of Representatives and the Senate. Congress meets at the United States Capitol in Washington, D.C.


Consists of the President, his or her advisors and various departments and agencies. This branch is responsible for enforcing the laws of the land.


The Supreme Court of the United States is the highest court in the land and the only part of the federal judiciary specifically required by the Constitution.