How many members of Congress have been censured?

There have been 26 members of Congress who have been censured by the House of Representatives in its history.

George Santos is censured?

No, George Santos is not censured yet. House Democrats are planning to file a resolution on Monday to censure him for lying to voters about his background12

However, the resolution has little chance of passing the Republican-controlled House2. Santos is also facing 13 federal counts of wire fraud and money laundering, which he has pleaded not guilty to12

He has been under pressure to resign, but he has refused to do so3. Censure is a formal statement of disapproval that does not affect the member’s status or privileges, but may damage their reputation and re-election prospects4.

The list of the House members who have been censured by the House of Representatives are as follows:

  • William Stanbery (1832)
  • Joshua Giddings (1842)
  • Laurence M. Keitt (1856)
  • John W. Hunter (1864)
  • Benjamin Gwinn Harris (1866)
  • Lovell Rousseau (1866)
  • John T. Deweese (1870)
  • John Winthrop Chanler (1870)
  • Orsamus B. Matteson (1873)
  • William D. Bynum (1890)
  • Thomas L. Blanton (1921)
  • John J. McFall (1977)
  • Charles H. Wilson (1978)
  • Charles Diggs (1979)
  • Daniel Flood (1979)
  • Gerry Studds (1983)
  • Dan Crane (1983)
  • Barney Frank (1990)
  • Newt Gingrich (1997)
  • James Traficant (2002)
  • Charles Rangel (2010)
  • Laura Richardson (2012)
  • David Schweikert (2020)
  • Paul Gosar (2021)
  • Adam Schiff (2021)
  • Jamaal Bowman (2023)

The first censure ever recorded was of Rep. William Stanbery in 1832 for insulting then House Speaker Andrew Stevenson during a floor debate.

William Stanbery